Best cheap ARM board for Syncthing?

I have never used Syncthing before, but I am looking to use it along with btrfs or ZFS to create a home backup system using cheap, low powered ARM boards. I’ve read about people’s experience using Syncthing on Raspberry Pis and one of the biggest problems with low performance systems appears to be the time it takes to generate SHA256 hashes while indexing.

On certain ARMv8 CPUs, SHA256 can be done nearly 100 times faster, but it is hard to find a cheap board that supports the new instructions. The only one I can find is the LeMaker HiKey, but it has no Ethernet or SATA and only USB 2.0.

So my question is this: Do you think I would get better performance with a device with GigE and SATA or USB 3.0, or would the CPU be the bottleneck (in which case it would be better to use a device with slow I/O, but could do SHA256 very quickly)?

My current top pick for a device with faster I/O is an ODROID XU4 (w/ GigE and USB 3.0).

I am going to create a proof of concept system with hardware I already own to do some performance and stability tests, but I was wondering if anyone had experience with this type of setup.

1 Like

The performance of syncthing depends indeed on a few hardware capabilities. It uses SSL, SHA256 which are cpu/hardware intensive unless hardware offloaded. You would benefit from a good board with native ethernet (compared to shared USB ethernet on raspberries).

As you mention the ARMv8 CPUs indeed support SHA256 hardware offloading instead of CPU calculation but they are not cheap.

Keep in mind you will need approximate 50-100 mbyte of RAM per syncthing instance.

Also syncthing is NOT an backup system, it is a synchronisation tool but can be used in a backup-like way. E.g: sync to a central point and run a backup cronjob (suggestions are borgbackup or restic). When using multiple peers which do bidirectional sync to and from a central server you can get problems and having backup snapshots is not a bad thing then.