Problems Running Syncthing

Hello! I am new to Syncthing. I have been really excited about using Syncthing to sync my Android Phone to my Windows 11 computer over wifi.

I installed the app on my Samsung Phone. I also installed the Syncthing program for 64 bit systems in Windows 11. I installed SyncTrayzor also.

Any time that I launch SyncTrayzor, it doesn’t work properly. Here is the error log: [monitor] 09:15:42 INFO: Log output saved to file “C:\Users\Seth\AppData\Local\Syncthing\Syncthing.log” [start] 09:15:42 INFO: Syncthing v1.18.1 “Fermium Flea” (go1.16.6 windows-amd64) teamcity@build.syncthing.net 2021-07-30 12:41:57 UTC [start] 09:15:42 WARNING: Failed to initialize config: config file version (36) is newer than supported version (35). If this is expected, use -allow-newer-config to override.

I have tried killing all Syncthing processes, restarting my computer, reinstalling Syncthing, running windows update, making sure that NET framework is installed. Maybe I should try completely uninstalling, reinstalling and rebooting again?

Can anyone help me to get this running?

I tried reading through the FAQs, but could not readily find someone else with the same problem.

This is the problem here. You should choose either the basic Syncthing binary or SyncTrayzor. If you’re a new user, I would suggest SyncTrayzor.

If you haven’t configured anything yet, then you can simply delete the whole %LOCALAPPDATA%\Syncthing folder (copy and paste the path to Windows Explorer) and then try to start SyncTrayzor again.

The error message is peculiar though. I’ve had similar reports recently on the SynoCommunity package where Syncthing dies because of a future config version. But we had changed the behavior roughly one or two years ago, so that it tries to do an upgrade in this scenario instead of choking on the config version.

Apparently that behavior has changed again, so we need to investigate and I believe it could be a regression from previous releases.