How to show logs in Terminal with autostart enabled OSX?

Hi all,

I’m on OSX and I have Syncthing autostarting using the plist method as described in the docs.

http://docs.syncthing.net/users/autostart.html?highlight=autostart#mac-os-x

Sometimes I get sync errors and I want to just quickly look to see what files are causing the problems. So far I have been getting the debug logs by adding some commands to the plist (as suggested in the below link). The downfall is that I reboot the system to see the logs.

Can someone provide a step by step method on getting the logs to show up in Terminal? I’m a bit of a newbie, so please have patience :smile:

I see in the above thread that Syncthing can be started from Terminal to show the logs, but I couldnt get it to work.

This is what I tried.

1. open terminal
  2. cd to folder with syncthing
  3. in terminal typed: syncthing -verbose I get this in terminal ‘-bash: syncthing: command not found’

What am I doing wrong?

It’s ./syncthing in the directory the binary is.

Thanks!

Now the only problem I get is this

FATAL: Cannot open database: resource temporarily unavailable - Is another copy of Syncthing already running?

I’ve tried to shutdown via the GUI and I get a ‘Shutdown is complete’ message but the FATAL error is still there. Any suggestions?

Well your shut down didnt work it seems, terminate it through the process manager and try again.

Nope. Cant kill the process either. It just keeps restarting after every forced quit :frowning:

So it’s the service daemon probably restarting it after you kill it.

You should do: sudo launchctl unload ~/Library/LaunchAgents/homebrew.mxcl.syncthing.plist

then try killing it.

Sorry, I should have specified. I used the non-Homebrew method. So I just copied the .plist that came in the etc folder in the included binaries. I changed the user to my info and then copied that to launchdAgents folder.

I did try to use the: