I recently moved many files from one sub-folder to another and i think instead of following this simple filesystem operation, on the other devices syncthing deleted these files and then downloaded their exact copies from other nodes into their new location.
However i am not entirely sure about that (I also read Moving files = delete and re-upload?)
Can someone confirm if synthing detects when files are moved? And if not, wouldn’t that be a great feature to be added?
Edit: Okay, i tried to reproduce this and apparently syncthing DOES move files when the nodes are online and have a connection. However, when one of the syncthing nodes are off and turned on after the files were moved, there is no detection of these moved files: In this case, the files get deleted and re-downloaded in their new location.