Device X folder Y has a new index ID

I run syncthing across three servers as a docker within unRAID (three-way sync). When a new version of syncthing comes along I just pull a new docker image (the docker maintainer keeps it up to date). I’ve been doing this for over two years now and it’s been great.

However, yesterday I updated to version “1.27.6” and noticed today that one of the three servers has a whole bunch of “new index ID” messages. The other two servers are ok.

I came across this article and I quote calmh below. Unfortunately I haven’t done any of the things mentioned. Is it possible that a DB migration occurred without me knowing? If so then why only on one server? The article below mentions that the message is just an info message but I’m a little worried as to why this happened and why it happened to only one of the servers.

https://forum.syncthing.net/t/getting-index-ids-back-in-sync/16984

New index IDs happen when devices connect the first time, or on database migrations which happen now and then, or when forced by -reset-deltas. It’s not an issue, and by definition happens only once so resolves itself automatically.

1 Like

I have to admit that it’s tough following what’s going on here. Maybe it’s obvious to the developers here. I see that this was a recent change but the comment only says “Resend our indexes since we fixed that index-sending issue”. What index-sending issue?

So I tried to search for info about this and I found a few things usually talking about an initial sync but nothing really explains what happened in my case.

Looking at the code you get a sense that there’s a version mismatch so maybe in my case it was a matter of timing where one syncthing device was updated while an older device was still up. That’s just a guess.

Anyway, I gather that the indexes were dropped and are now being recreated and this is basically a non-issue.

I do appreciate the help and quick response. Love syncthing so keep up the great work gang.