Accessing SyncThing folders on QNAP

Apologies in advance if I’m missing something obvious here - I’m completely new to SyncThing and have had a hard time figuring it out!

I’m trying to sync between a Raspberry Pi 4 running Ubuntu Mate (20.10) and a QNAP HS-251+ (Firmware v. 4.3.4). SyncThing installed well on both devices and they are connected. Despite the warning on the QNAP installation not to run SyncThing with admin privileges, as others have noted here, there is no choice: only the admin can install apps. And when I try to add a folder on the QNAP side, I’m offered an unalterable path that involves a hidden folder. I went ahead from the RPi side and added a folder there, which did then sync with the QNAP - both devices tell me the folders are up to date. But I don’t understand how to access the folder that’s been created on the QNAP side. It doesn’t show in the File Station. I suspect the problem lies in the underlying file structure on the QNAP which is used by SyncThing (eg /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/.qpkg/SyncThing/etc) and the user-friendly overlay shown in the File Station (eg Public, Multimedia etc). How do they relate? How do I get to see the folders and files on the QNAP? Or … is there a way to configure SyncThing on the QNAP to make it’s default in the Public folder, or a user-added folder that’s accessible in the same way as the folders on the PI are? Someone please help!

I don’t use it on any of my NAS devices but this post suggests you can share QNAP shares:

I get the feeling you will not be able to access the hidden folder from outside of Syncthing. It will be a sandbox only ST is meant to play in.