It’s an option when you add a new folder and choose trash can file versioning. I haven’t seen it before, and the text below the field says
The interval, in seconds, for running cleanup in the versions directory. Zero to disable periodic cleaning.
…but I don’t quite understand it. Can someone give an ELI5?
The default setting, i.e.
means that Syncthing will check every 3600s (=1h) whether there are files to be deleted from the
However, this will only delete actual files if you set a specific number of days, as follows.
The default value of
0 means that files will be kept in
.stversions with no time limit. A value of
1 would mean that Syncthing will delete files older than 1 day, and so on.
The purpose of this setting is mostly for setting a very large interval when you have folders that are always idle, in order to let disks spin down. (In cases where disks spin.)
This topic was automatically closed 30 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.