Using Syncthing for Photographer Backup

I am trying out Syncthing to see if it will work as a solution for my problem. I am a photographer and work on large files on a Macbook. I do not have enough space on my Macbook to keep all my files local. I would like to have another computer to backup all my files to. I will keep all the recent files that I am working with on my macbook, but I would like to be able to delete the older files off the macbook but keep them on my other computer as an archive. I’ve been messing with the settings on Syncthing and I’m trying to find out how to set this up.

I need to be able to backup all my files on my Macbook and also be able to delete the older files to save space on my Macbook. I just want to delete these files off the macbook though. They still need to be backed up somewhere else. I need to be able to easily access these archived files if I need to.

First off: Syncthing syncs your files. It’s no backup. If a file gets damaged or corrupted, the file on the other machine(s) will too.

Now to your problem:

You can either set the ignore delete advanced setting (in “Actions” -> “Advanced”, not the advanced settings section inside the folder dialog) on your other device, so if you delete on you MacBook, the file will stay on the other device.

Or

Enable versioning on the other device. The simplest being trashcan, which will move a file to the folder .stversion when it is deleted on your MacBook. Changes to files will not be versioned in this case. For that, use one of the other versioning options.