Synthing Presentation at KWLUG

Sorry if this is a duplicate post - I think I inadvertently deleted my prior post as I cannot find it any more.

Hello

I have been using Syncthing for the past 2 years and will be presenting my ‘set-up’ to the local Linux User Group.

I plan to showcase how to effectively use this helpful community and related documentation created by it’s members.

Please let me know how best to ensure I give due credit to all those involved in creating this great product.

Thank you Sandeep

6 Likes

I can’t speak for the team, but in my opinion by taking the time to present Syncthing you are already doing anyone involved in Syncthing a favor. In general it would be nice to also give short info about the nature of the project (maintained on volunteer basis, community involvement (OSS)) to hopefully convey the notion, that as a user you aren’t just a consumer, you can already view yourself as a contributor (and approach problems/support with that mentality). However in a “Linux User Group” that’s probably already well known :slight_smile:

Again: Thanks for doing this and don’t hesitate to ask questions if you have any.

4 Likes

Thanks - I do plan on giving an overview of the project and the security practices followed to ensure data is secure during transmission - I’ll gather all this information from the website / forums. I’ll post my draft outline by Wednesday - so that others can help ‘clean up’ my comments.

Sorry - that took longer than I thought. Here’s what I’ve got - it’s a 45 minute presentation so I’ve tried to keep it fairly high level. Would really appreciate help with anything that I’ve misstated. I’ve tried to link to the relevant documentation on the Syncthing Site / User Forum. I will be presenting this on Monday evening. KWLUG - Syncthing - Keeping your files safe.odp (202.9 KB)

A couple of factual errors in your presentation that stand out: