SyncthingTray for Windows

Hey guys,

since I’m using syncthing under windows and the console windows does not fit my usage I created a small app called SyncthingTray. I know it would be better if it was written in GO instead of C# but I have no knowledge about GO and no time at the moment to learn it.

You can check out the source at https://github.com/iss0/SyncthingTray. A binary release is available at https://www.dropbox.com/s/8fvu374txz4v1n1/SyncthingTray.zip.

4 Likes

On the contrary, I think C# is exactly the right choice for Windows. This is awesome!

2 Likes

Thank you! :wink:

There is room for improvement, but for now it makes syncthing much more fun under windows for me.

I tried this out and have some comments/suggestions.

• An installer would be great. It gets really sad if you start it without the Resources directory present, which I did at first. :wink:

• I expected it to continue running down in the tray when I closed the window, but then realized I needed to minimize it instead. I’m not sure what the default Windows expectation would be here?

• It’d be cool with the binary as a Github release, I’d rather link to https://github.com/iss0/SyncthingTray/releases/latest than a random Dropbox url.

• As a future feature, it would be sweet if it would just download the Syncthing binary if I don’t already have it (i.e. a “Download Latest” button beside the “Set Syncthing Path” or something).

• As a future feature, an “Open GUI” menu item when clicking the tray icon? It could either snarf the URL from the startup text, or peek into the config (whichever is easiest).

I love the initiative, I think it has the potential of making the Windows experience a lot smoother.

3 Likes

Thanks for your suggestions! I will take them into account, when I will open that solution the next time. Maybe this weekend I will find time for that. :wink:

Hi, why are there separate x86 and x64 releases? It is .NET and I don’t see any code that would need it.