syncthing on filesystem that is "eventually-read-written"

Hello. Unfortunately I don’t know how to express my question better and it is simply because I’m not an expert in linux and/or filesystems.

My usecase is as following. I would like to install syncthing on a orange pi zero SBC. The challenge, however is that I’d like to be able to turn off the board by simply unplugging it from the power socket without damaging the SD card. I’ve already been able to utilitize overlayfs, so that the system starts up in read-only mode, however in order for syncthing to function, it requires a read-writable filesystem. I’ve thought of two solutions:

• to have some sort of a hook that would trigger whenever syncthing would know that it has to modify a directory - then I could remount the filesystem in r+w mode, and remount it in ro mode when files are transferred. However, from what I can understand, such functionality (of the hooks) is not exposed by syncthing (I found a github issue though)

• to continue to have the system running from the SD card, but have an external partition with a journaled filesystem on USB flashdrive. if I understand it correctly, it would mean that if synching would not modify the files, I could still unplug the power cable and not damage the flash drive ? (because the only process writing to the filesystem would be syncthing) or if any partition is mounted in r+w mode, then any other shutdown other than… well initiating shutdown command will result in the USB drive error and there’s no way around that ?

kind regards,

I don’t know about your workarounds, but is it possible that you are overthinking things? With a modern filesystem I would expect things to work fine despite yanking power now and then.