Syncthing idle/dormant unless terminal session active

Syncthing in LXC container won’t stay active unless a SSH session remains active into the container.

As long as I remain ssh’d in with putty, Syncthing devices show the instance as connected and ‘Up to date’. If I terminate the ssh session, quickly the statuses change to “Disconnected”. Re-establish the ssh connection and all return to connected and ‘Up to date’ status again.

50/50 it’s a Proxmox thing, so I posted there first. Haven’t had any bites with ideas so I’ve posted it here as well.

Container is privileged and running Ubuntu 21.04 (Linux 5.4.114-1-pve #1 SMP PVE x86_64 GNU/Linux with Syncthing 1.17 running as a normal user (container is privileged as I am still learning to share data stored on separated bare metal TrueNAS using this instance).

Anyone else experience similar behaviour? Suggestions appreciated.

You haven’t explained how you are launching syncthing, but all child processes launched during the SSH session are usually terminated as the session ends, so if you expect it to keep running after you logged off, this is not going to happen, as expected.

Here are the steps I followed to set up the LXC and get Syncthing going:

1. Create LXC from the 20.04 LTS Server template

(updated to 21.04 from within running LXC since).

2. Install Syncthing following these steps:

apt install curl apt-transport-https gnupg
curl -s https://syncthing.net/release-key.txt | apt-key add -
echo "deb https://apt.syncthing.net/ syncthing release" > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/syncthing.list
apt-get update
apt-get install syncthing

3. Create Service File

nano /etc/systemd/system/syncthing@.service
  ​
​[Unit]
Description=Syncthing - Open Source Continuous File Synchronization for %I
Documentation=man:syncthing(1)
After=network.target
[Service]
User=%i
ExecStart=/usr/bin/syncthing -no-browser -gui-address="X.X.X.X:8384" -no-restart -logflags=0
Restart=on-failure
SuccessExitStatus=3 4
RestartForceExitStatus=3 4