Syncthing for large pre-populated folders

Hi !

I am new to Syncthing and would like to use it to sync a rather large (85Gb) folder between my laptop and my phone’s SD card.

The data already being mostly in sync (apart from a dozen new files on the phone), if I point the new sync to the existing folder, will all files get uploaded again or will they be recognized as already there?

It is taking around half an hour to analyze the folder for syncing, and I understand that full scans are necessary every so often. Since I only need to sync the files every once in a while and that no major modifications will be done, is Syncthing the right tool for that or is it going to use a lot of CPU power for nothing? Will I need a half hour analysis just to copy 10 new pictures every week ?

Thanks for your help and for developing this software !

[EDIT] Alright did a test on a smaller folder, and Android gives Syncthing read only permission on the SD Card :slight_smile: so I guess it’s not the right way to go… does the device have to be rooted?

There is no write support for sd cards unless you use root, or use unified storage (merging device storage and sd card) or set the folder to be at a very specific path (not sure it works on all roms).

It should, that’s a general Android thing I think. The paths are ./Android/{data,media}/com.nutomic.syncthingandroid.

2 Likes

Thanks !

Supposing I use the ./Android/{data,media}/com.nutomic.syncthingandroid path as a workaround, how about the rest of the question ? do all files get uploaded again?

If the files are the same, it will sync the metadata but not the content, but be safe and backup before hand.

Hi again !

After some thought, moving all pictures to the /Android/**media**/com.nutomic.syncthingandroid path seems like a good way to make it work.

However the folder doesn’t exist in the /media folder, although it exists in the /data folder. Can I just force create it?