syncthing-android architecture: background service

Hi,

I’m currently looking into syncthing (for syncing photos) and trying to figure out how it works.

As far as i can understand, syncthing-android runs the syncthing binary in a service, all the time. I have some experience trying to run something all the time on android, and I know it is not easy. :wink: From my experience, sooner or later, your service can get killed, even when taking all the precautions on a well behaving rom. My app ran just fine for years, currently using a foreground service, but even then it started getting killed somewhere end of 2023. Since my rom or app didn’t change, I suspect a google play policy or something the like.

The current recommended way of doing big background tasks is using WorkManager and syncthing in theory could be a good fit. I started browsing the code but couldn’t find any reference. I also understand that it is not a trivial fit as syncthing is designed to be run as a always running daemon process in the background. So I was a bit worried that syncthing would not work reliably on android (i.e. the service would get killed after some time). On top of that, having a daemon run all the time, might be a waste of resources (tbh I did not check how much the daemon process consumes). So I started looking into alternatives. I found the nextcloud project and they seem to be using workmanager, which is great, but at the same time, the app does so much more than I need, uses slower protocol and requires a server (and maybe a rpi would even be too slow). Back to syncthing :wink:

I had already noticed that the app is in maintenance mode and that there exists a fork (syncthing-fork by @Catfriend1 ). At first, I was very confused, and in general try to stick to “official” projects. But it seems @Catfriend1 has used JobScheduler to address exactly those worries I had. Those changes are not merged upstream.