Syncronize .stignore file

Hi. Reading documentation I see that .stignore file is not synchronized (it is ignored).

I have a master repository (a complete web site) that i’m developing and it is synchronized to about 20 nodes using syncthing. The repository includes some folders that should be ignored because they are temporal folders, smarty chache, etc. The problem that I have is that I need to manually set .stignore in each node, this is difficult because when I change, add or delete folders in master repository that should be ignored in all nodes, this is madness and sometimes and I don’t have access to the remote nodes to manually change the .stignore.

Is there any option to force .stignore file to be syncronized to other nodes. May be a .stglobalignore file that should be syncronized by default?

With best regards Christian

If the folders are ignored on the “master” repository, they will not be synced to the other nodes, so there is no need to ignore them there.

However, madness or not, there’s a workaround you can use, at least if the involved machines are Unixy (Linux, Mac, FreeBSD). Rename your .stignore to just stignore (no leading dot. Or whatever other filename you like, that is not exactly .stignore) then create a symlink .stignore -> stignore.

The end result is a file that is synced (stignore) and contains the ignore patterns. The symlink needs to be created just once on each node and will thereafter be left alone.

1 Like

After reading your response in “exclude exactly one folder in .stignore”, I see that this will not work for me, because I’ll need to do a symlink in any new subfolder where I set a .stingoner file, that is the same work that creating the .stignore file.