Sync 800 computer's "/"

Hi,

I want to use syncthing to sync 800 linux’s client . I just launch the discuss, to see if anyone could help me a bit, or warn me if that’s not possible.

My idea is, i have a master client, i stop syncthing on it, i modify system as i want, restart syncthing, the modification is pushed over 800 machines.

First questions i see :

• Could I authenticate new clients without any graphical action throught the web ui ?
  • OR is there any way to have only one master config and ONE client config, the same one on all 800 clients ? This could able me to deploy the master system on a new machine without scripting any config modification, or keys generation one the new client.
  • Can i sync multiple dirs, or one top dir excluding some else (sync “/”, excluding “/dev /proc /sys /tmp /run … etc”)
  • Which hardware configuration is needed one the master client to support 800 nodes (ram, cpu) ?

I you have any idea to help, Thank you by advance.

Have a nice day.

The cleanest way here is to set the master as “introducer” and then add your new clients there. The other existing devices will then accept the new one.

This is probably a bad idea. Syncthing does not synchronize file ownership. You probably want to select more specific directories to sync.

[quote=“eoli3n, post:1, topic:6629”] Which hardware configuration is needed one the master client to support 800 nodes (ram, cpu) ?[/quote]

No idea. :slight_smile: This will depend more on the amount of data being synced, but for sure there is a memory hit to keeping track of 800 other devices. We normally recommend not doing that, but grouping the devices in smaller clusters instead, like a tree.

According to http://data.syncthing.net, the size of the largest known network is 90 devices. You’re going well into uncharted territory with 300.

1 Like