Sub-folders on macOS require permission for every action

I’ve been using Syncthing for a few months but this issue just started when I added a new sync folder last week. Basically I have a Parent folder with many Children. If I place a file in the Parent it works fine, but if I try to put one in any of the Child folders macOS asks for permission on every action. Other folders I am syncing do not have this problem. This happens on a mac running macOS Sonoma and Ventura. There is also a Windows 11 machine in the mix but since I have older folders that work fine I don’t think that is the source of the problem? Another weird detail I noticed is if I try to move a folder out of the Parent or Child folders that are having the permission issue it copies it as if it was pulling from a external drive or remote folder.

I can’t see any difference between the folders that are working and the ones that aren’t. Help?

Is the parent and subfolders ones that you created or are they part of the default folders?

Is the folder password protected/encrypted?

They’re ones I created but as far as I can tell I created them the same way as the others I created previously that don’t show the permission prompt.

Not password protected or encrypted.

At the moment there’s not enough info to know exactly what the problem is, but it’s definitely a macOS issue rather than a Syncthing issue.

If you don’t mind using a command-line and sharing more details, what’s the directory/folder output from the following command?:

ls -le /path/to/the/parent/

It’s a list of all the files along with their unix permissions. I’d rather not copy/paste the whole thing since they’re personal files but is there something specific I could look for, or a piece to share? I compared the output from the folder to the one that is working and I didn’t see any obvious differences in the permissions.