.stfolder not ignoring file with ampersand in name

I am just getting started with Syncthing. I would like to synchronize notes between my laptop, my server, and my phone, using different tools on each platform to actually create and edit notes.

On my laptop, I’m looking to use NValt to create one text file per note. NValt also creates a file named Notes & Settings where it stores its metadata. The ampersand (and the spaces) in the filename requires me to escape it in all shell commands:

$ file Notes\ \&\ Settings
Notes & Settings: Apple binary property list

I have attempted to add this to all of my devices’ .stfolder file:

$ cat .stfolder
.DS_Store
Notes & Settings
*.swp

I’ve tried various permutations, including escaping the ampersand (Notes & Settings), wrapping the filename in single quotes (‘Notes & Settings’), and replacing the ampersand with a single wildcard match (Notes ? Settings).

Despite this, the “Notes & Settings” file keeps getting transferred from my laptop to my server and to my phone. The “Notes & Settings” file is only of use on the laptop, so I’d like to exclude it from the other Syncthing devices.

I’m not sure if this is an outright bug, or if I’m simply doing something wrong. I have not tried “Notes*” in my .stfolder, because I’m afraid that’s too generic.

If I’m doing something wrong, I’d love to know about it. If this is, in fact, a bug, I’m happy to open an issue at GitHub.

Thanks!

I would expect both Notes & Settings and Notes ? Settings to work properly. No escaping or quoting. Please do open an issue for it!

Now that I think about it, there may be another issue with ignoring previously not ignored files on the source device… Ignoring it on the devices where it’s not supposed to be synced is the best ignoring it on the source is supposed to work too.

I’ll open an issue. Thanks.

Can you clarify the exact function of .stignore? Does that file tell Syncthing:

1. “Ignore all incoming files that match this pattern”