Starting Syncthing

Hello all, Merry Christmas, I hope everyone had a good one!

I’m after a bit of assitence if someome could please help. I am very new to Linux and sshing etc… so please go easy one me, first off a little back story.

As you will all know Google are stopping thier unlimited photo uploads in June, which means I needed a solution to backup mine and the wife’s photos. I wasn’t too concerned at first but we have both just updated our phone to a Mi 10 and a S20 Ultra, both featured a 108mp camera meaning 99% of our photos are now stupidly large in file size, which of course means our free 15gb would soon be eaten up!

So I needed a solution;

1. Degoo - I’ve heard horror stories about people having there account wiped for ‘no’ reason, so not entirely sure I want to trust it
  2. Synology NAS - I have a 1815+ with 32TB with ‘Moments’ installed, I’m happy using this but Moments seems to downgrade the quality of my photos and it’s not the best at automatically syncing and seems to use a lot of system processing to upload the images (I use the NAS for streaming media)
  3. Open Media Vault - using Syncthing to back up from our Android phones

This was my original intention, to use OMV with Syncthing, but I am using a Lagacy Raspberry Pi Model B and OMV didn’t want to run, which after I thought a bout it I didn’t need OMV and just Syncthing. Why am I using a very old peice of hardware? Simple I’ve had it in a draw for years and not used it so want to put it to use for something good.

After much tinkering today I have finally got Syncthing working, albeit on a test/temp basis until I get a couple of new WD Red hard drives and some cables.