Specify sync folders?

Hi there, I’m new to Syncthing.

I haven’t found an answer in the docs or support for something that I need to do. I’m a photographer adding several GB of data every day that I need to “push” from my laptop (where new data is downloaded to) to a local Synology NAS (NAS #1) as well as an offsite Synology NAS (NAS #2). I’ve installed Syncthing on the laptop and both NAS devices and have that working.

Here’s what I’m having trouble wrapping my head around: because the folder names on all three devices aren’t necessarily the same, I’m wondering if there is an option to specify both a source and destination folder?

For instance:

• On laptop: e:\foldername1\foldername2\foldernametosync
  • On NAS #1: \foldername3\foldername4\foldernametosync
  • On NAS #2: \foldername5\foldername6\foldernametosync

I don’t see a way to point a source folder to a destination folder. Am I overthinking this?

Please have a look at https://docs.syncthing.net/intro/getting-started.html if you haven’t already.

Basically, only folder IDs need to match, while labels and paths can be all different. I’m guessing that you’re trying to set both local and remote paths while sharing the folder. Syncthing doesn’t work that way. You first share a folder on one device, then on the other you accept it under your preferred path.

You first share a folder on one device, then on the other you accept it under your preferred path.

Ah. I haven’t gone as far as actually sharing a folder, since I wanted to understand what I was doing first. If I can specify the destination, I think that will do exactly what I need.

Thanks very much.

I have another question that I want to understand the answer to before I set this up.