Snap not auto starting?

Hi all, this is my first post on here and I’m very new to Syncthing.

I’m trying to get the Snap of Syncthing running but I’m having some issues. I have installed the Snap on a Ubuntu Server 18.04 server and also on my laptop running Ubuntu Mate 18.04 just to test as I couldn’t get it to work on the server.

The snap wont run unless a type “Syncthing” into the command line and then the snap starts and I can access the web UI, but as soon at I close the terminal it kills the snap.

Is this right? does it only run while the command line is open? this makes it pretty useless to use on a headless server. I have tried to read the manual but couldn’t find anything. Could it just be a snap issue? or am I missing something simple?

Thanks to anyone who answers.

2 Likes

There are a number of ways to do that, please have a look at this: https://docs.syncthing.net/users/autostart.html#linux

If that doesn’t solve your problem or if you have issues, feel free to ask again.

1 Like

I had the same confusion with the snap install in a VM. Not sure why, but I can’t seem to get it running with systemd.

I cloned the github repo to get a clean copy of the .service file, copied that to /etc/systemd/system/syncthing@user.service, and enable/started it. Looks like it’s having problems starting.

sudo systemctl status syncthing@myuser.service
● syncthing@myuser.service - Syncthing - Open Source Continuous File Synchronization for myuser
   Loaded: loaded (/etc/systemd/system/syncthing@myuser.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
   Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Mon 2019-08-26 13:32:10 CDT; 4min 59s ago
     Docs: man:syncthing(1)
  Process: 13148 ExecStart=/usr/bin/syncthing -no-browser -no-restart -logflags=0 (code=exited, status=203/EXEC)
 Main PID: 13148 (code=exited, status=203/EXEC)

Aug 26 13:32:10 myuser-VirtualBox systemd[1]: syncthing@myuser.service: Service RestartSec=100ms expired, scheduling restart.