Running Syncthing at work (non admin rights)

Hello all !

On my workstation (=non admin rights), I’ve tried to replace Portable Dropbox by Syncthing to access my current work folder at home. No wrapper (SyncTrayzor, SyncthingGTK) could be installed, of course. So I just launch the bare Syncthing executable. Issue: neither does it see to any of the other repos, nor could it be seen by them.

How can I look for what’s wrong, please?

Thanks

At work you are NATted, at home you probably are too. Can you add a host inbetween which is not, and see if the connection works?

Ahem… Sorry to say I’m not that technical. How to do this ?

The portable versions will work (if Syncthing-GTK has a portable version, I’m not sure. Portable SyncTrayzor will work fine at least).

Portable SyncTrayzor was the first I tried. To no avail (it requires .Net Framework 4.5, which I cannot install). I don’t think SyncthingGTK has a portable version but I gave the normal version a go. It requires python27.DLL, which I cannot install either. :confused:

Did you use syncthing with a device outside your home network before?

If not, you should check UPnP or manual Port Mapping in your home firewall.

If you had a device working successfully outside your home network, it could be, that your company firewall is blocking outgoing traffic. Dropbox used the default HTTPS port (443) which is “never” blocked. But syncthing uses other ports, which might be blocked.

Ah fair enough, that’s a shame.

@wweich Yes. My smartphone, my tablet, my laptop, my NAS and my VPS are constantly in sync. This could be a port issue, as you suggested.

So is it possible to make Syncthing use this port ? (just a random thought that might sound nooby, I have no idea if & how it makes sense…)

If you have no HTTP(S) Server running at home (on that machine, or which is accessibly from the internet) you can change the address for the sync protocol in the main syncthing settings.