RenameFile operation doesn't seem to be performed everytime when renaming a file in a Syncthing folder

I’m studying rename file operation of syncthing recentlly and I found some problems. The funtion renameFile() in source file rwfolder.go dosen’t seem to be executed each time when I rename a file on the opposite machine, and once it is not called, Syncthing will genrate a new file by the name I renamed to and copies data into it instead of just renaming the old one. I traced the bep message and found that sometimes Syncthing receives one bep contains both Add and Delete FileInfos after doing rename and sometimes it receives bep message twice and each one cotains one FileInfo. It seems that the renamefile funtion will be executed exactly as serval FileInfos are received in one time rather than receive them for several times. So I wonder the reason why bep message sometimes could carry serval FileInfos and sometimes just carry one. Is it possible to make Syncthing send both Add and Delete FileInfos in one message everytime when a file is renamed? If it is not, is there any other way to ensure the rename operation will happens on local machine as the same operation happens on the others?

1 Like

Ah, this is probably timing related. We first scan for additions, then for deletes. Updates are sent to other devices with some delay for batching. If the time between adding the file and seeing the delete is too long, the updates will end up in separate batches. Then the device on the other side just sees the add and can’t do a rename.

Good catch. Not immediately obvious to me how to fix it without potentially delaying updates for a long time.

1 Like

I found that the function updateLocals() in file model.go will run after the scanning process discovered the file changes. It has code like this: