QNAP TVS-h874X-i9-64G Age old "failed to setup inotify handler" error, even after adding "inotify.max_user_watches=204800" to the sysctl.conf file

Using Syncthing v1.27.2 on a QNAP TVS-h874X-i9-64G with OS version QTS 5.1.4.2596. Help? Regarding the Age old “failed to setup inotify handler” error, even after adding “inotify.max_user_watches=204800” to the sysctl.conf file using what I found in your support doc area.

How can this newbie modify this for my QNAP TVS-H874X with OS version QTS 5.1.4.2596? Please remember that I’m new to the SSH command line. I cann SSH into my server but that’s as far as my experise goes. In addition I’ve followed what I found in your support are as below but it doesnt work, even after I reboot bot my QNAP servers. H-E-L-P??? THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Syncthing Error Recv’d:

Failed to start filesystem watcher for folder your failed to setup inotify handler. Please increase inotify limits, see FAQ — Syncthing documentation

Linux typically restricts the amount of watches per user (usually 8192). When you have more directories you need to adjust that number.

On many Linux distributions you can run the following to fix it:

echo “fs.inotify.max_user_watches=204800” | sudo tee -a /etc/sysctl.conf

Did you reboot? Otherwise you need to modify it directly on /proc as well to make it take effect, as the faq explains.

Yes I did. Still the same on both QNAP server.

Check the kernel value to see if the change took effect:

After logging on via SSH, issue the following command to see the current user watch limit:

cat /proc/sys/fs/inotify/max_user_watches

Hi imsodin. Thanks for the response.
No it didn’t take. When typing your specified command it responded with a value of “262144”.