Pulse, Network Connection, Reliability & Daily Usage

Hi,

What type of network connection scenarios is Pulse designed to handle?

Can I expect Pulse to work out of box on any type of network connection in the future?

I am asking because I am concerned. I want to use Pulse, but I wonder how reliable it is and how much manual intervention I need to do to sync files.Thanks for the answers in advance,

bastian

I’m not sure I understand the question. Syncthing should work fine over the internet. What kind of connection and manual intervention are you worried about, specifically?

I am a student. I often go to the university where they have a public Wi-Fi for us to use. Probably behind NAT, but that usually doesn’t make a difference for me while using software. I have two computers running Pulse, connected to this wi-fi but they can’t connect to each other (I have added them as nodes on each side).

So I am wondering whether this is something related to a bug or if Pulse only works out of box on some specific network connections or?

Personally I think especially on public wi-fi’s it is useful to have encrypted private file sharing. But when I read the documentation it sounded like you needed to have control over your internet connection, ie. do port forwarding when you were under NAT, access your router or perform tunneling.

If you have a NAT on both sides and no port forwarding and no upnp, the devices will not be able to connect.

If you have a third device which is accessible over the public internet (not behind a NAT or has UPNP), then your two other devices should get in sync, as they both would use the third device on the public internet as a reference point.

This is how I use syncthing, which gives me Dropbox like behaviour as the worst case, and P2P in the best case.