Permission denied when sharing home subfolder in ubuntu

Hi all,

Please bear with me as I am new to everything linux. I have a raspberry pi 5 set up to run ubuntu desktop 23.10 after getting it as a gift. I managed to set up syncthing as a docker container using docker compose using the sample here:

---
services:
  syncthing:
    image: lscr.io/linuxserver/syncthing:latest
    container_name: syncthing
    hostname: syncthing #optional
    environment:
      - PUID=1000
      - PGID=1000
      - TZ=Etc/UTC
    volumes:
      - /path/to/syncthing/config:/config
      - /path/to/data1:/data1
    ports:
      - 8384:8384
      - 22000:22000/tcp
      - 22000:22000/udp
      - 21027:21027/udp
    restart: unless-stopped

With /path/to/data1 being my home directory /home/user etc

However, when I tried to share a folder that is already in the home folder, I get the following error: Failed to create folder root directory mkdir /home/user/folder: permission denied

In the folder path section of Add Folder, I used /home/user/folder as the path and checking the permissions with ls -la everything folder there has the owner as user:user.

If I change the folder path to ~/folder that seems to work but it creates the folder inside syncthing/config which is not what I wanted. The syncthing folder is also owned by user:user.

Have I missed something obvious here? The PUID and PGID seems to point to the correct user when I checked id user

Thanks for any tips on getting this to work.

With your manifest as shown, Syncthing will see the path to your home folder as /data1. Your folder path as configured in Syncthing should then be something like /data1/whatever.

You might want to make sure that PUID and PGID matches your actual user and group ID on the host as well.

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to reply, unfortunately, changing the folder path to /data1/folder threw the same error: Failed to create folder root directory mkdir /data1/