I have an odd situation here after my initial sync between two devices. First of all, here’s my setup:
- Syncthing v1.20.1 on Windows 10, this is the source of all my files
- Two instances of Syncthing v1.12.1 on Debian 11 machines (package provided by Debian), these are receive-only
The initial sync from the Windows machine to the two Debian machines is finished, and on one of them, the status of the Windows machine is displayed as expected: Up to date. However on the other Debian machine, the status of the Windows machine is “Out of sync”, with about 30 GiB worth of files that are claimed to be out of sync. The files exist on all three devices and they are identical, bit by bit. The local / global files count also matches on all machines. So it seems that this one Debian instance has a different idea of what the contents of those files on the Windows machine actually look like. Furthermore, if I rename one of those supposedly out-of-sync files on the Windows machine, the count of out-of-sync files decreases by one when this change propagates to the other machines. The renamed file is not re-downloaded, so Syncthing must be aware that it can in fact reuse the file contents.
Is this a known issue? What can I do to make the Windows machine appear up-to-date again to the Debian machine without removing and re-adding the sync folder on the latter (as I’d prefer not having to do a full rescan of the sync folder)? I couldn’t find anything useful in the logs but maybe you can tell me what to look out for. I’d really like to understand why this is happening, so that I can prevent it from happening again.