"Out Of Sync" - First use of Syncthing beween Synology and W10

Hi,

Context: I’m looking for a sync solution between several PCs and my NAS, and selected Syncthing for its features and openness, so this is my first try, but I cannot seem to make sync work…

What I did: Installed v1.5 community package on Synology 1812+, and SyncTrayzor 1.1.24 (Syncthing v1.5) on W10 64b. I’ve added each device on the other one, and set up a single sync folder called ‘Audio’ on both. That folder had been previously sync’ed on demand using a manual tool, so contents was mostly identical.

Issue: On W10, the folder appears “Up to date” but with the Synology device “Syncing” at 0% for the whole day. On Synology, the folder appears “Out of Sync”, with the W10 device “Syncing” at 99%.

Screenshots:

Question: How can I debug the situation ? As far as I know, I have no particular filtering set up on either device, and the folder on Synology is R/W by user, group, and others. I guess this sounds like a newbie question, but I’m a Syncthing newbie :slight_smile:

Any hint would be greatly appreciated.

Vincent

Click on the failed items to see why they failed. Likely guess is a permission error. Permissions on Synology are tricky. There are some notes on setting ut up at https://docs.kastelo.net/synology/sharing/.

Hi Jakob, and thanks for the reply.

That was it indeed! I followed the steps on the page you linked (maybe a link to it in the FAQ would make sense). I changed the settings and within seconds, I had 18175 synced files :-). Perfect.

… or I should say almost perfect, because on the PC, the Global State is 18250 files (75 more thus). Any idea how I can find where the difference comes from ?

… and on both devices, the “Out of Sync Items” line still lists 25 files, just like in the second screenshot above. But the list is the same on both devices. Should I worry about them if the folder shows a green “Up to date” on both sides ?

KR,

Vincent