One-Way Sync Configuration

I know there are many threads here about the “Send Only” option, but none of them address my desired setup. Preface; I am brand new to Syncthing, and yes I have read the documentation. My issue with the documentation is that it’s confusing when it refers to “devices” and “folders”. So, risking snarky replies, I want to ask you all…

I want to use Syncthing as a one-way backup tool. Right now I just want to copy all files from my Android phone to my Ubuntu server, with the ability to periodically delete files from my phone but leave them in-tact on my server. I have no need to ever change or delete the files on the server, so this is a true one-way sync.

On the Web GUI, I have a “Folder” set up as “Send Only” and shared with my Android phone.

On the Android phone app, the same “Folder” is NOT set as “Send Only”.

After the initial scan, 1,360 files were copied from the phone to the server as desired. I have NOT deleted any files from the phone, and have since added more files. The new files since the original sync HAVE NOT copied over to the server. On the Web GUI, both the “Folder” and “Remote Device” (phone) say “Up to Date”.

What am I doing wrong?

THANKS!

1 Like

You’re setting the server to send only, while it is the phone that should be send only - changes should be sent from the phone to the server.

You might want to set ignore deletes on the server as well.

Thanks for the quick reply. As you instructed, I changed the “Folder” (that’s shared with the phone) to “Send & Receive” and I enabled the “Send Only” option on the Android app of my phone.

I just snapped a new picture on my phone, and confirm that it copied over to the server successfully (yay). Then I deleted the same photo on the phone, and the same photo was deleted from the server (this is undesirable).

You mention an “ignore deletes” setting on the server, but I don’t see this. Where exactly do I find this option?