Malwarebytes detections

Hi Guys,

I am new to Syncthing having only set it up yesterday to sync a database between my Win10PC and my android phone. I then created a startup shortcut in Windows so it will start every time I reboot.

When I restarted my PC Malwarebytes chucked out 4 different warnings. The first 2 warnings identified the syncthing.exe file as malware and the second 2 notifications related to suspicious websites - namely 185.14.97.176 and 185.243.218.27 which it blocked and tagged as compromised.

Having got Syncthing from here and after running the .exe file through virustotal I know it is clean and have added an exception in Malwarebytes.

However, as regards the IP addresses, I did a brief search on here and saw some talk about relays which I’m not familiar with but couldn’t see any links to any articles which would help my decide if it’s safe for me to add these IP addresses as exceptions in Malwarebytes or not.

Despite the issue my database is syncing perfectly fine but I would appreciate some advice please as to what to do to get rid of these detection warnings from Malwarebytes.

Step 1: get rid of Malwarebytes

On a more serious note, the IP addresses are probably flagged by Malwarebytes because those servers are not only hosting a Syncthing relay but also operate as Tor nodes.

https://docs.syncthing.net/users/relaying.html

https://docs.syncthing.net/users/faq.html#why-does-syncthing-connect-to-this-unknown-suspicious-address

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply.

As a home PC user my technical knowledge only goes so far but from what you’re saying Syncthing shares relay servers that also host Tor nodes. If that’s the case my next question would be whether Syncthing checks out which servers can be trusted.