MacOs Auto start on login via launchd not working

Hi Guys

Great app - works so well between my pi out in observatory and my mac in the nice warm house, save so much trouble I cannot thank you enough!

But! I rebooted the mac today and noticed my syncthing icon was gone, sure enough I cannot hit the UI in the browser and of course I did not notice there were instructions for setting up to run as a service when I log in. So I followed the instructions at:

https://docs.syncthing.net/users/autostart.html#macos

Twice. I made sure to run these commands as myself, not root - I am an admin on this mac.

Also tried the homebrew route. No dice. I have checked and double checked the instructions, the directory is there with the .app file in it, the plist file has been edited correctly, when I run the command:

launchctl load ~/Library/LaunchAgents/syncthing.plist

There is no error reported, the logs and error logs are just empty files, and if I try and load the service again it is reported as already running. I can stop it and no error, start it again, no error but the UI is gone (nothing responds on that port) and the app is basically not running.

If I run the binary from the location referred to then the icon pops up in the mac taskbar and all is good.

I also checked out this great script someone wrote and it seems to work, it just does the same thing as when I follow the instructions - i.e. runs a service that seems to do nothing.

What could I be missing? I’m running 1.9.0-1, I did notice there was an upgrade for me today which I installed. I did not try and do this with anny prior version.

Cheers Iain

The instructions you mention are for “core” Syncthing which is a command line program that doesn’t have a dock icon. You’re running Syncthing-macOS which is a Mac wrapper. You can auto start that like any other Mac app.

Excellent, thanks for your prompt reply Jakob.