Is only internal syncing possible?

Hello,

I’m very new to this so excuse ans stupied question…

1. Should I see other devices with Syncthing installed in my local network and connet to them without typing theirs IDs manually into the other one? I needed to use their IDs to connect… Maybe that’s a problem already?

2. I wanted Syncthing only to sync while I’m in my home network so I unchecked “Relaying”, “Global Discovery” and “NAT traversal” as I do understand “NAT traversal” as an in/out IP translation thing…

After unchecking all, it took a while and my Desktop lost connection to my both wireless devices…

Checking “NAT traversal” again was helping but after that I could realise traffic going out again… So what’s been send out for “NAT traversal”?

Cheers Markus

You can use Syncthing 100% locally with no problems, but please be specific about the environment and the devices (e.g. operating systems, non-standard hardware, etc.), because you may need to use custom settings in some cases (e.g. on Android you can’t use local discovery, and without global discovery enabled you will simply need to hard-code the IPs/hostnames instead).

Of course, locally or not, you still need to use the IDs and set everything up the same way. Please read up https://docs.syncthing.net/intro and https://docs.syncthing.net/users/syncing.html if you haven’t already.

Thanks for your reply.

I use a Notebook with Windows 10 on LAN a Samsung Galaxy phone on WLAN and a Samsung Galaxy Tab on WLAN.

The router is an AVM Fritz!Box and it has two AVM WLAN Repeater.

All IP are set not to change in the Router.

As I sad, When I have “Relaying”, “Global Discovery” and “NAT traversal” on it works, without them not. So “Local Discovery” alone isn’t working because of the both Android devices? Two Windows devices or Linux would work with only “Local Discovery”?

Cheers