Instructions on Starting Syncthing Automatically in the Documentation

I have a question regarding the instructions listed in https://docs.syncthing.net/users/autostart.html.

Are these instructions supposed to be targeted at complete newbies, who need 100% step-by-step guidance, or rather assume that the user knows at least the basics of using a computer (e.g. operations like copy, rename, extract, etc.)?

Right now, it seems that some of the instructions are a little more advanced, while others explain all the steps in very plain and easy language, with no place for errors.

I am curious what is the preferred way here.

Just my two cents, nothing authoritative - I’d say just by merit of writing docs you have quite a bit of freedom of scope:
That part in general should be reasonably clear, but I don’t think we should explain “non-Syncthing” steps in detail or “basic computer steps”. That does not include anything that’s special to setting up Syncthing, even if it doesn’t directly involve Syncthing. If something else is complicated, it’s better to point at a canonical resource (as in something that won’t be obsolete in half a year) or just mention a few keywords, such that the user can search for help. I wouldn’t want to keep longish explanations of third-party stuff up-to-date.
And on seconds thoughts: I think they can be reasonably concise, as anyone that doesn’t feel at ease with computers should just use synctrayzor/syncthing-macos which take care of startup (at least I hope macos does :slight_smile: ).

And thanks for helping with the docs, that’s very much appreciated! And a very important contribution to the project - docs didn’t get all the love that they could have.

2 Likes

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts. I completely agree with what you are saying.