I can sync on WIFI but not Mobile Data

Hello,

I have been having difficulty connecting when my android (rooted Moto G 4G) is not connected to WIFI.

I can easily connect to websites using the browser but for some reason syncthing cannot load and if loaded on WIFI and I switch off wifi connection, when attempting to load Web GUi, it says cannot connect to https://127.0.0.1:8384

I am not an expert when it comes to networks etc, so I could be out of my depth here.

Can you help?

Thank you!

There is a setting in syncthing-android to only sync while you are connected to wifi. Is that setting turned off?

Hello,

Thanks for getting back to me. I can conform that the “Sync only on WIFI” is turned off. I have also tried “Sync as Root” as my phone is rooted (I am running Cyanogen 12 on a Moto G 4G).

I am also having this problem. When you say wifi do you mean just your LAN?

Hello Dugger,

Glad to know I’m not alone (although sorry yours isn’t working)…Yes bang on…

Wish I could help you further but I am running stock Android 5.1.1 without root access so our situations are pretty different.

It’s pretty simple, one of the devices has to be available on the internet, as in, have the port exposed on the internet via upnp, port forwarding or not being behind a router etc. If that is not satisfied, it will not connect, at least until all devices are running syncthing 0.12

What happens when all devices are 0.12? Is the behavior somehow different?

If the devices use global discovery and you did not disable relays, they should be able to connect to each other, without exposing one of them to the internet (firewall, port forward).

I remember a posting, that the official relay server will be rate limited to 100KiB/s. If you want it faster, then you will have to change your tounter/firewall settings, so the phone can get a direct connection.