How to use Syncthing with OpenLDAP?

I’m really new to Syncthing and kind of new to using OpenLDAP but I have used OpenLDAP authentication on some other projects.

I’ve read Syncthing’s documentation regarding the use of OpenLDAP. I don’t understand however how to completely use this feature.

When I perform ldapsearches on the command line I typically need to authenticate with a user and a password. A simple search for example:

ldapsearch -D "cn=admin,dc=ldap,dc=domain,dc=com" -W -b 'ou=users,dc=ldap,dc=domain,dc=com' -H ldaps://openldap.domain.com:636 cn=kevdog

I believe the -D refers to the user I’m using to authenticate and run the query with, and the -W indicates the password.

So I don’t understand how I would perform a similar search with syncthing

Address = openldap.domain.com:636

Base Domain = ou=users,dc=ldap,dc=domain,dc=com

Bind Domain is wear I’m struggling. My command line uses a --bindDN and --bindPassword but the GUI is only setup for a bindDN.

I guess I don’t understand what I’m using since other implementations I’ve had to enter the password in the configuration file and save the file with 600 permissions.

My organization scheme looks like the following: (it’s pretty basic):

The bind is made with the user’s credentials, which is how they’re verified. That’s the %s place holder in the bind DN. In your case you want something like cn=%s,ou=users,dc=ldap,dc=example,dc=com.

That kind of clears things up but I still don’t think things are working:

❯ ldapsearch -D "cn=kevdog,ou=users,dc=ldap,dc=domain,dc=com" -W -H ldaps://openldap.domain.com:636 -b "ou=users,dc=ldap,dc=domain,dc=com"
Enter LDAP Password:
# extended LDIF
#
# LDAPv3
# base <ou=users,dc=ldap,dc=gohilton,dc=com> with scope subtree
# filter: (objectclass=*)
# requesting: ALL
#

# search result
search: 2
result: 32 No such object

# numResponses: 1

Have I configured things incorrectly? Really confused. It at least authenticates this time