HIPPA compliance

I have not checked but I am almost sure that syncthing would not be HIPPA compliant. However, do you guys think that syncthing can become HIPPA compliant or provide a HIPPA compliant version (even with a fee)?

I am not an expert on HIPPA, but I came across idea while working today. Some potentially helpful links:

https://www.truevault.com/blog/how-do-i-become-hipaa-compliant.html and

I am sure that 99.99% of users don’t care about this, hence I personally don’t see why we should try to get this done.

Someone who needs this can make the relevant pull requests changing syncthing and go through the beurocracy of getting it blessed.

2 Likes

Yes, most current users wont care. It was just an idea.

I don’t really know what that means, but I suspect documents, procedures, safeguards and whatnot - so probably not feasible, no.

Right, neither I think that health insurance people is the right market we should target.

Only with a fee, more like, HIPA compliance is hugely expensive!

We have no chance - we can’t even spell it correctly. Literally.

:trolleybus: :japanese_ogre:

1 Like

While HIPAA is a US Health Care industry compliance standard, there also exists a much broader global ISO standard for Cloud Service Providers.

I recently discovered that Microsoft’s Azure service was first to achieve the ISO Privacy Standard for CSP’s. In case you are curious to know what is required to achieve the standard, here is an overview:

You can assume it costs a fortune, and doesn’t make sense for Syncthing to pursue this in the absence of a large revenue stream.

1 Like

Is that standard even relevant? Syncthing doesn’t collect personal data…

Also isn’t a cloud service. Well, the discovery server might be, given that the cloud is just someone else’s computer, in this case mine. Not going to get certified, I can guarantee. :wink: Here’s a box of Happy Hippos in the meantime:

6 Likes

and Syncthing is not even a health app or health related software…