help with use-case: share photos among multiple family members

Newbie here, looks like a great tool, thank you to developers!!! The tutorials I’ve tried are either too simplistic or too advanced.

Too simplistic like Getting Started — Syncthing documentation (okay I added 2 Ubuntu computers, with the default Sync folder, and files I put there on one computer show up on the other, nice.)

Or too advanced like Multiple use cases - a long read. - #9 by tiwing (2 phones, 2 laptops, desktop, 2 backups, 2 VMs, yeesh)

My use case is sharing photos/videos among myself, spouse, brothers, spouses, and the grandparents. Lets assume all are Ubuntu users, and all have their own photos on their own device (laptop or desktop) /home/martin/Pictures/[yyyy-mm-dd-subject] (with “martin” replaced by each of their own usernames, and each with many subfolders of some naming scheme, not necessarily same for all users).

Is the shared folder /home/martin/Pictures? Or do I have to share all of the many subfolders individually?

For my own pictures on my own machine, I want those folders to be Send Only (other users can’t delete my photos). All the other intermixed subfolders are from other users, should be Receive Only, so I can’t accidentally delete their photos.

What are other users doing in similar scenarios? Is it simpler to add another layer of folders to keep send-only more separated from receive-only folders? Like

/home/martin/Pictures/mine/[yyyy-mm-dd…]

/home/martin/Pictures/grandma/[yyyy-mm-dd…]

/home/martin/Pictures/grampa/[yyyy-mm-dd…]

If my brother’s videos are too large, taking up too much of my disk space, can I (after poking around a little, watching a few), stop syncing that folder and get the space back? or stop syncing PLUS I have to delete it? (assuming he shared it send-only)

What else can anyone tell me about how this has worked for them, or how they made it work better?