Help creating a simple script FolderCompletion > copy files

After googling for an hour, I could not find an example of what I am looking for:

• On an Ubuntu machine that basically functions as ‘master’ for all my devices running SyncThing,
  • when syncing (to this machine) of a specific folder (or device) is completed,
  • run a command copying the contents of the specific folder to a different location (basically: backup that folder, but not other folders of that device).
  • continuously check for new syncs (new events of completed sync) and run the command.

I understand SyncThing has a REST API that has an event called FolderCompletion. I have seen 2 scripts that use it, but no action seems to be triggered in those scripts.

http://localhost:8384/rest/events?events=FolderCompletion&limit=1&timeout=$EVENT_TIMEOUT&since=$id

As I have no experience with APIs and do not know any scripting language (I can read some, using common sense and I know rsync, cp, mv commands)… I am looking for friendly help to use this information to continuously check for the folder/device completion and run a CP command.

I can create a systemd service file myself, to run that script as a daemon. I can create the command to copy myself.

What I do not know is how to write the script itself (.sh or .py?) to continuously check FolderCompletion events (for at least a specific SyncThing device, preferably a specific folder) and run my command.

If all you want to do is run linux utils, I’d prefer shell scripts/bash over python. If you want to learn something about a more versatile programming language in the process, use python.

What do those scripts do? Essentially you need a part that determines whether the folder is finished (that’s going to be the hard part), the rest is super simple: Just call mv source dest and you’re done.