Getting acquainted + want to help :)

Hello SyncThing peoples. I’m a designer / developer who likes to work on open / Free software projects that protect privacy, etc… I most recently have been working on an encrypted email project called Mailpile the last couple years.

I just got my first installs of SyncThing working on two computers… really AWESOME that it just works and works well :smile:

I’d love to help work on UI / UX. I jumped into the #syncthing IRC channel and had some good chats. @calmh showed me some snazy new interface designs for Syncthing. I’d love to help code them up / work with anyone else working on UI / UX aspects!

2 Likes

Hi!

It’s good to have you here.

May I ask you for some opinion on this?

1 Like

I think the number one thing preventing syncthing from getting wider adoption is the difficultly in setting up the first share. Solve that securely and you will have helped a lot.

3 Likes

@jpjp absolutely, I think Syncthing as a protocol and the app is incredible, it has the potential to make both nerds and normal users extremely happy, secure, and in sync! I would absolutely love to help it get easier for the non-nerds to get going!

@robsonsobral heya I read over that thread. Shucks, I’m not quite what you’re talking about. I haven’t used the GTK component of Syncthing yet… or maybe there is some other “advanced” aspect that i’m not familiar with.

The only thing I’ve noticed in using Syncthing that might be what you mean, is the use case of:

• A user wants to “share” a folder with other nodes, but 1 or more nodes might not want to “download” the file

Maybe you could word it like that?

Yeap! The point is really to make Selective Sync (or just download) easier for “non-nerds”. I think the BT Sync way is easier to use than the DropBox way. If the feature should be on GTK or Syncthink is a little secondary.

@bnvk: Welcome!