Getting a better (non-relay) connection?

Hello,

I have been using Syncthing for several years now and love it. Now that the connection icons are shown next to remote devices, I realize that my work laptop always connects with a relay. Is there any way to somehow force this to be a TCP LAN connection when I am working from home?

My assumption is that because this is a work PC, it is on a different domain (my work domain) than the rest of my network (“workgroup”).

Is there a way to do this, or is this just something I have to live with?

Thanks!

1 Like

There can be many different factors at play here, but just a quick question, what operating systems do the two computers run?

The work laptop is Windows 10 Pro/Enterprise(?). All other PCs are either Windows 11 or Mac OSX. Syncthing is running on my NAS (TrueNAS SCALE). I used to run Syncthing on a SFF PC running Linux Budgie, but I recently migrated it to my new NAS.

I don’t know if the connection from the work laptop to the old Syncthing was getting a relay connection or not.

When it comes to Windows, please just make sure that your home and work networks are set to private and not public (see https://support.microsoft.com/windows/make-a-wi-fi-network-public-or-private-in-windows-0460117d-8d3e-a7ac-f003-7a0da607448d) or otherwise Windows won’t allow direct connections no matter what. Also, you’re not going to get a “TCP LAN connection” when not on the same network, but you should still be aiming at either “TCP WAN” or “QUIC”, of course.

OK thanks. I will look into that. There are various security restrictions on the work laptop, so I may not be able to change some things, but I will check.

Just for grins, I tried connecting that work laptop to my old syncthing install on the linux machine (without setting up any shared folders), and that one connected with TCP LAN, so I am not sure why the NAS install doesn’t connect the same.