Folder with 'ignore delete' creates .pending duplicate after deleting file from source

Hi there, Im new with syncthing and got everything setup. Enabled ‘ignore delete’ on the folder (NAS) where i store my photo’s and video’s from my phone (source). After i set these settings i uploaded all from the source folder to the NAS. Then, to see if the ignore delete function works, i deleted one video from the phone folder.

After that i checked the folder on my NAS. The photo was still there but there was also a duplicate starting with ‘.pending’ I attached a screenshot of these files.

I wanted to use syncthing to backup family photo’s and video’s from my phone to my NAS so i can clear up my photo folder. Is there a way to prevent syncthing making these duplicates? Or am i missing something?

.pending is not something that syncthing does/creates, you should check for other software running against that folder.

1 Like

As far as i know i haven’t got anything else running on that folder. It’s a shared folder on my Synology NAS that is only used by synology photos. I had used photo backup from ds files and ds photos app on my android phone but i both disabled that photo backup before i started with syncthing. I double checked it and it’s still disabled. Could i miss anything else?

Just tried it again. Made a new photo and put it in source folder. It uploaded to the NAS. After that i deleted it on my phone. Checked the NAS. Issue still happens.

Syncthing temp files are named .syncthing.(original-filename).tmp. We can’t know what you’re missing, but it’s not Syncthing that creates that file.

1 Like

I would think so. I needed to reorganise my map structure in docker so i moved syncthing and started over. Before i even got to syncthing i used photo backup from synology’s android photos and ds file apps. I thought maybe this was a leftover from these apps although i disabled photo backup in it.