If you could give an additional option to do file versioning on the local machine when a user deletes or changes a local file, it would allow Syncthing to be used as a local backup/versioning software (a whole new use), which may be immensely useful to a large number of users.
At present, if I delete/change a file on my local machine, only the remote machine that is syncing will save the versions. If you have this optional switch, the local machine would also save a version of the same file in .stversions folder (or another one).
Here’s a typical use case:
I have a desktop PC for CAD/video (high power apps) and a typical laptop for portability use. Some people have two computers - one home and one work.
I keep data synced between the two. However, if I don’t turn on my laptop for weeks, there is no versioning happening on my desktop PC, which makes me want to install another versioning software.
Thank you for creating this wonderful software and making it available to all for free. It is deeply appreciated.