I downloaded syncthing today so I just discovered it. I made it work somehow and discovered how it works.
Therefore, I used on a folder and I have just veen working on an xlsx file. I saved several times between 6:30 and 7:15. Then I tried to move this file with a few other ones in another folder.
Afterwards : I lost my files and wasn’t able to find it back fully. Nothing else in my temporary files, nothing in the bin and I didn’t activate the versioning.
Would someone know if it is possible to find it back ?
I would be super grateful, and I hope this kind of problem is absolutely rare.
If file versioning was disabled and you’ve got no copies of the file backed up in other places, then there’s really nothing you can do in regards to Syncthing. If the file was super important for you, then you should look into data recovery, either trying doing something on your own or taking the device to a data recovery professional.
Just to reiterate, if you absolutely have to get the file back and you’re not very tech-savvy, you should simply turn the device off immediately (i.e. literally just pull the plug out) and take it to a professional data recovery service.
Thank you. I think I did pretty much everything I could : tmp files, using libreoffice and google sheets to rebuild, going into the bin, trying wps office…
Otherwise I will just do the work again. Takes time but it will still be faster than a data recovery service.
I’ll activate the versioning now might be better ://
Final question : do you often have this kind of problem ?
Does syncthing works well in general when you activate the versioning ?
I have never seen a case where Syncthing deletes a file for someone. However, people, all of us, make mistakes and Syncthing will unfortunately replicate & amplify those mistakes for you. Versioning can help in those cases.
Please make sure to check https://docs.syncthing.net/users/versioning to understand how file versioning works and the different types of it. The most important thing is that you can only version files modified on other devices, so if want to have all changes backed up this way, you should enable versioning on both sides as well (or on a 3rd device that only syncs the folder without making any changes to it).