File ingest folder mode

Hi! I have a use-case which seems like something Syncthing could potentially be really perfect for, but I don’t believe it’s currently possible. (Maybe I’m wrong and someone will show me how to do it :smiley: )

The use case is the following:

• I’m a photographer who takes a lot of photos. I need to move the photos from my SD card to a computer so that I have space to take more photos.
  • When I’m at home I move photos from my Camera’s SD card to my desktop computer, where my photo library lives and is backed up.
  • When I’m traveling, I move photos from my SD card to my laptop.
  • I need a solution for syncing files from my laptop to my desktop computer, but not the other way round, because my laptop doesn’t have enough storage for my entire photo library!
  • Furthermore, because I will be deleting photos off of my laptop to reclaim storage space, I don’t want Syncthing to then delete those files off of my desktop computer!
  • I often will edit or share photos directly from my laptop, so I don’t want them to get automatically deleted without my input either.

If I intended to keep the files on my laptop forever, then the send only folder type would work for my use case I think, but if I understand correctly, it’s not meant for that, but instead as a “master copy” / “source of truth” of the data it contains.

Instead, I would need a folder type called something like copy only or ingest, where files are copied from this folder to the cluster, but no external changes are sent back, and deleting files locally does not cause them to be deleted externally.

In fact, it would be nice to have a button in the UI (similar to the Override Changes button send only folders have) which would erase all data from the local folder that has already been sent upstream – so that you can delete files safely. :smiley: