duct taping Syncthing onto another program to achive iOS sync?

Hello,

I am new to this getting it running between my Mac and Android. I am trying to de-google. I also have an iPad which I mostly use for the purposes of photography as the camera on my phone sucks. I was using Google Photos before and it worked beautifully, however I am now way too creeped out to continue.

I have seen that there are no plans for an iOS release due to lack of resources. My question is about combining Syncthing where it is supported with another option where it’s not.

For example if I used Resilio or Sync.com to go from iOS to Desktop, could I share the sync folder with Syncthing to the phone? Then everything would end up together?

Is there a reason why this shouldn’t work? Something that would be obvious to the smart people here who know about these things that wouldn’t be obvious to me? Baring that I’ll try it out but I don’t want to end up hosing all 3 somehow.

thank you!

There’s no fundamental reason that wouldn’t work.

My own experience…

I never usesd Resilio or Sync.com, nor do I know about them. But I doubt, that it will be an “apple-like” aka “click and done” sync, if you use them in conjuction with syncthing.

I pers. used to use a synology NAS (and their DS File App) to (oneway) sync fotos from my IOS devices to the NAS. Syncthing then synced those two folders (iPhone+iPad) inside an “incoming fotos” folder on my MBP and a Win7 computer.

This was not really convenient, to set up, nor a real sync. It was just an automated "copy all you got from IOS devices to other devices.

It sometimes created doublettes and some other problems (i.e. fotos in IOS devices had uppercase extension, and when I lowercased/renamed them, problems occoured with syncthing. Also sometimes an IOS devices did not remembered correctly, which fotos where synced already (via DS File app, or DropBox App, or whatever App I used to get my fotos out of the IOS device to bypass any cloud).