Syncthing has an interesting operational issue or “feature” that should probably be removed.
I have a Mac as one of my nodes, so .DS_Store files eventually show up in each of the directories and sub-directories. I have .DS_Store ignored so that this file doesn’t propagate all over Windows or Linux.
Problem is, when I delete the directory on a Windows or Linux machine, Syncthing won’t delete it on the Mac because the .DS_Store file is not deleted and therefore the directory isn’t empty and isn’t deleted. Over time, I get lots of spare “empty” directories laying around that should be deleted. This is bad.
I never noticed this with BTSync and now specific testing confirms that when using BTSync the directory is fully deleted on the Mac when deleted on a non-Mac peer. I think this is a better feature because leaving empty directories around with .DS_Store files in them is kind of pointless because there’s nothing else in the folder.