copy links the way WinSCP does it

Hi Guys. First, I am a noob and not a native English speaker, sorry for that. I have a NextcloudVM which generates LE-Certificates and I want to use those Certificates outside the vm for other Services on my Windows PC. But syncthing is not copying those certs, because they are “links”(?). The problem is that LE creates new certificates with new names. I could sync those in the Archive Folder of LE, but then I have the problem that the name changes all the time. When I copy the “links” with WinSCP it is what i want. So do I miss something? It would be nice to configure the “share” to follow those links.

Syncthing doesn’t sync symlinked targets - at least on Windows. Setting a folder path in Synching to the root where the “real” files (not links) reside in and generating a fitting ignore file for sub-contents you don’t wish to sync might solve your Problem.

1 Like

It will not because the real filenames do change to often. Only the link-file has the needed name which is not changing.

Syncthing does not follow symlinks, and there is no way to change that.

1 Like

@BobD what are you using to generate the certificates?

Ok. :disappointed_relieved:

https://www.hanssonit.se/nextcloud-vm/

I don’t understand why the script creates LE certs with new names but my suggestion would be to simply sync the files (not links) to the windows machine and sort things out there. Since there is always one file for cert, chain, etc. you can output the content of e.g. chain*.pem into (always same) file cert.pem

Or both, the dir with links and dir with certs.

certbot, the “official” client for LE, will keep every cert ever created in /etc/letsencrypt/archive/{domain}/ while linking the current one in /etc/letsencrypt/live/{domain}/. So by syncing the archive folder, you need to get the latest cert / highest number in the domain folder and work with that.