Connecting to myself...and other console messages

Hello,

I have been using Syncthing for about 18 months now and I have to congratulate you, it is a brilliant piece of software. But now I am finding little issues that compelled me to sign up here and write to you.

I am a non-technical user, I have very little knowledge of how it all works, and I use Synctrazor on Win-10. I have noticed some messages recently in the console, and I was hoping for some more information, or instructions if I need to configure things in a better way.

The messages are:

1. Connected to myself (“device ID”) at “LAN IP:22000”-“Public IP:Port/tcp-server” - should not happen (This message is coming up on the console every few minutes)

2. Failed to exchange Hello messages with (partner ID) at “LAN IP:22000”-“partner IP:port”/tcp-server: EOF (I get this message from time to time, but I don’t seem to have any problem exchanging data with the other PC. The sync works fine, so this might not be a problem)

3. A message about my router. My router is the standard ISP router from British Telecom in the UK. I know that it’s a terrible router - I just don’t know which one to buy to replace it yet.

The message says: INFO: Removing NAT port mapping: external TCP address 86.135.49.203:48782, NAT DSLF_BTHomeHub5.0 (MAC address)/External WAN Device/urn:upnp-org:serviceId:WANPPPConn1/urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:WANPPPConnection:1/http://192.168.1.254:2555/upnp/DSLF_BTHomeHub5.0 (MAC address)_ptm0/WANPPPConn1.ctl is no longer available.

I have port forwarding set up (I forward 22000-22027 to my main PC that has a fixed IP in the DCHP table) and I have also created rules in my ESET firewall to allow traffic on those ports. Again, everything seems to work fine, but I can’t help but wonder if these messages might be slowing down performance or transfer rates etc etc…

I’d appreciate any insights please and I’ll try to understand your responses as best I can.

Thank you!