Config Randomly Nuked Itself - How To Restore From Backup?

I have a SyncThing instance running in a Docker container on a NAS (to act as the always-online ‘central repository’ for all my other devices). I’ve been running this setup for several years. I don’t directly access its UI very often (last time was maybe a year ago), but today I logged in to add another device…and found that its entire config had disappeared. No connected devices, no folders, nothing - it was like a freshly installed default config.

It was definitely online & syncing as of like 30 minutes ago, so it seems like the config just nuked itself right around when I actually logged in. If I look at the config.xml file, sure enough, its contents are default, & the file shows a modification timestamp right around when I connected to the UI.

1. How on earth could that happen? I literally just accessed its URL, and…no more config.

2. I do have a weekly backed up config.xml file from about 5 days ago, which I assume is safe to restore? And if I restore that config.xml, what should I do about its index-v0.14.0.db (some of the files the db folder do have more recent modified timestamps than the nuked config.xml, so presumably they are also now bad). Should I delete the db folder (aka will it regenerate)? Or should I delete the db and the shared files themselves on the NAS (so it can pull them all from the devices)? Basically, in addition to restoring config.xml, what else do I need to do to ensure there aren’t a million conflicts upon restarting the Docker container on first sync?

You haven’t provided any details on the type of NAS, but is it by any chance https://forum.syncthing.net/t/synocommunity-syncthing-package-update-1-19-0-24-for-synology? If yes, then you should be able to find some instructions and tips on what to do next in that topic.