Change default port numbers in docker deployment

Hi. I am new to Syncthing, deploying it for the first time. It appears to be a helpful product, wish I had discovered it sooner. I have a docker deployment related issue though.

I wish to run Syncthing in a k3s (kubernetes) cluster. Thankfully Syncthing provides official docker image. The problem that I have is not specific to k3s, if it can be done in docker it can be done in k3s too.

I noticed that Syncthing uses 3 ports:

1. gui, port 8384
  2. transfer, port 22000
  3. local discovery (broadcast?), port 21027

I wish to change the default port numbers while deploying to k3s or docker. gui port (#1) can be changed by setting STGUIADDRESS environment variable. But I couldn’t find anything like that for the remaining two ports. I have seen tutorials to change these ports in configuration file. But is there a way to set it in docker or kubernetes deployment file?

No, it’s set in the config file, only. Why though? What happens in the container doesn’t need to be what you expose to the outside world. And local discovery is pretty much guaranteed not to work in a Kubernetes setup. I expect you’d need to wire up the appropriate services and configure connection from other devices to go via those services.

I only intend to expose it to my LAN (192.168.2.x)

Even if I wire port 22000 & 21027 from pod, through kubernetes-service to LoadBalancer?

That way port 22000 & 21027 of the host (k3s cluster host) should be accessible to other devices in the LAN. Other devices will identify host as a Syncthing device. The host will redirect that traffic to kubernetes which in turn will route it to the pod. I am using traefik as my LoadBalancer.

Local discovery is UDP multicast/broadcast. I don’t think you can do what you want with it.

Ok, NO local discovery then. But offline sync should still work as long as port 22000 traffic from host gets forwarded by kubernetes to Syncthing pod – right?